AMS-02 BOLOGNA GROUP


The AMS Bologna Projects

FOR THE NEW UPTODATE VERSION OF AMS-02 BOLOGNA SITE GO TO: http://ams02bologna.weebly.com/ The AMS Bologna Group is one of the research groups leaded by Prof. A.Zichichi, and is responsible for the Time Of Flight (TOF) system of AMS-02, and partecipates in the research & development and production phase of the Ring Imaging Cherenkov (RICH) detector.


The AMS experiment

The Alpha Magnetic Spectrometer (AMS) is a space born detector for cosmic rays (CR) built from an international collaboration, that will operate aboard of the International Space Station (ISS) for at least 3 years, collectiong several billions of high energy protons and nuclei.

It's main goal is the search for cosmic antimatter, that is for primary antihelium nuclei, that have a too little probability to be produced by the interactions between cosmic rays and the interstellar medium .

A first version of the detector, known as AMS-01, has flown aboard of the shuttle Discovery during the STS-91 mission (2-12 June 1998), collecting about hundred millions of cosmic rays.   This trial mission confirmed the main ideas of the project and gave important hints for the future development.
For the ISS mission, the detector will be slightly different in the concept and with better resolution.  


Bologna People:

Person
Role
E-Mail
Phone number
Dr. V. Bindi Post Doc researcher bindi@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5055
Dr. D. Casadei Post Doc researcher casadei@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 1170
Dr. F. Cindolo INFN researcher Federico.Cindolo@cern.ch +41 22 767 4645 (CERN)
Prof. A. Contin University professor contin@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 1131
Sig. A. Evangelista INFN technician evangelista@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5031
Sig. S. Finelli INFN technician finelli@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5294
Dott.ssa F. Giovacchini Post Doc researcher giovacchini@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 1170
Sig.ra C. Guandalini INFN technician guandalini@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5039
Dott. Ing. G. Laurenti INFN engineer laurenti@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5263
Dr. G. Levi University researcher levi@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5081
Sig. M. Lolli INFN technician lolli@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5276
Sig. F. Massera INFN technician massera@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5034
Prof. F. Palmonari University professor & group leader palmonari@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5143
Sig. R. Pilastrini INFN technician pilastrini@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5036
Dott. L. Quadrani Post Doc researcher quadrani@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5044
Dott.Ing. M. Rizzi INFN technician rizzim@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5280
Dr. C. Sbarra Post Doc researcher sbarra@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5081
Sig. A. Zucchini INFN technician zucchini@bo.infn.it +39 051 - 209 5031


Talks given at various conferences

2001
Search the ICRC2001 site for papers about AMS
Invited talk at SIF 2001.
Talk given at 7th International Conference on Advanced Technology and Particle Physics .
2004
Talk given at 9th Topical Seminar on Innovative Particle and Radiation Detectors , Siena.
2005
Talk given at 12th Lomonosov Conference on Elementary Particle Physics , Moscow.
2008
Invited Talk given at XCIV SIF (Italian National Physics Society) , Genova, Italy.
Talk given at XCIV SIF (Italian National Physics Society) , Genova, Italy.

And a special english course !;-)



If you have any comment about this site, you can send an e-mail to:
Cristina Sbarra